Previous Gigs

Sheffield Jazz

Previous Gigs

See our gallery for photos of recent gigs and posters of previous seasons dating back to 1978.

 

Autumn 2018 Band
Friday 12 October at 19.15
Crucible Studio
Jean Toussaint All-Star Sextet
Jean Toussaint: tenor saxophone; Byron Wallen: trumpet;
Dennis Rollins: trombone; Andrew McCormack: piano;
Daniel Casimir: bass; Mark Mondesir: drums
Friday 19 October at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Clark Tracey Quintet
Sean Payne: sax; Alexandra Ridout: trumpet;
Elliott Sansom: piano; James Owston: bass;
Clark Tracey: drums
Friday 26 October at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Benn Clatworthy Quartet
Benn Clatworthy: sax; John Donaldson piano;
Simon Thorpe: bass; Darren Beckett: drums
Friday 9 November at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Tony Kofi and the Organisation
Tony Kofi: sax; Pete Whittaker: Hammond organ;
Simon Fernsby: guitar; Pete Cater: drums
Friday 16 November at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Hexagonal
John Donaldson: piano; Jason Yarde: sax;
Greg Heath: sax; Graeme Flowers: trumpet;
Simon Thorpe: bass; Tristan Banks: drums
Friday 23 November at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Stan Sulzmann’s Neon Orchestra
Saxophones: Martin Hathaway, Matt Sulzmann, Josh Arcoleo,
Pete Hurt, James Allsopp; Trumpets: Tom Walsh, Noel Langley,
Henry Lowther, James Copus; Trombones: Mark Nightingale,
Gordon Campbell, Mark Bassey, Sarah Williams; Piano: Nikki Iles;
Vibes: Jonny Mansfield; Guitar: Alex Munk; Bass: Dave Whitford;
Drums: Tim Giles; Conductor: Nick Smart.
Friday 30 November at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Freddie Gavita Quartet
Freddie trumpet/flugelhorn; Tom Cawley: piano;
Calum Gourlay: bass; Joshua Blackmore: drums
Sunday 9 December at 19.30
Crookes Social Club
Sheffield University Big Band
Friday 14 December  at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Satori
Josephine Davies: sax; Dave Whitford: bass;
James Maddren: drums

 

 

 

Spring 2018 Band
Friday 19 January at 19.15
Crucible Studio
Kofi/Barnes Aggregation
Tony Kofi, Alan Barnes: alto saxophones;
John Turville: piano; Adam King: bass;
Rod Youngs: drums
Friday 26 January at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Trish Clowes’ My Iris
Trish Clowes: sax; Chris Montague: guitar;
Ross Stanley: keyboards; Tim Giles: drums
Friday 9 February at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Malija
Mark Lockheart: sax; Liam Noble: piano;
Jasper Hoiby: bass
Friday 16 February at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Gilad Atzmon Orient House Ensemble: The Spirit of Trane
Gilad Atzmon: saxophone; Frank Harrison: piano;
Yaron Stavi: bass; Enzo Zirilli: drums
Friday 23 February at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Jump Monk Quintet
Arnie Somogyi: bass; Tony Kofi: alto sax;
Jeremy Price: trombone; Liam Noble: piano;
Clark Tracey: drums
Friday 9 March at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Rob Luft Band
Rob Luft: guitar; Joe Wright: tenor sax;
Joe Webb: keyboards; Tom McCredie:
bass; Corrie Dick: drums
Friday 16 March at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Yazz Ahmed Band
Yazz Ahmed: trumpet/ flugelhorn;
George Crowley: sax, bass clarinet;
Ralph Wylde: vibraphone; Naadia Sheriff: piano;
Dudley Phillips: bass; Martin France:
drums; Corrina Silvester: percussion
Friday 23 March at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Nikki Iles Quintet
Nikki Iles: piano; Josh Arcoleo: tenor sax;
Percy Pursglove: trumpet; Steve Watts bass;
Tim Giles: drums
Friday 13 April at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Embodied Hope Quartet
Jon Irabagon: sax; George Colligan piano;
Michael Janisch: bass; Andrew Bain: drums
Friday 20 April at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Martin Speake/ Ethan Iverson Quartet
Martin Speake: sax; Ethan Iverson piano;
Fred Thomas: bass; Martin France: drums
Friday 27 April at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Vein Trio
Michael Arbenz: piano; Thomas Lähns: bass;
Florian Arbenz: drums
Friday 11 May at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Geoff Simkins Trio
Geoff Simkins: sax; Nikki Iles: piano;
Dave Green: bass
Friday 18 May at 20.00
Crookes Social Club
Alex Hitchcock Quintet
Alex Hitchcock: sax; James Copus: trumpet;
Will Barry: piano; Conor Chaplin: bass;
Marc Michel: drums