Gig Details

Friday 8 November. 20:00 – 22:30.

At Crookes Social Club

Full £15, Over 60s, disabled and unemployed £12, Student with NUS card £8, 15 – 17 year olds £3, Under 15s Free. CASH ONLY on door.

Advance tickets available from www.ticketsource.co.uk/sheffield-jazz at the same net price as on the door.

Dave O’Higgins: tenor saxophone; Rob Luft: guitar; Scott Flanigan: organ; Rod Youngs: drums

Expect swing, fun, grooves and moods from this exciting new collaboration. Both Monk and Trane were “modernists”, but also steeped in swing and the rich tradition of the beboppers. Sheffield Jazz favourites Dave O’Higgins and Rob Luft intend to respect this lineage whilst putting their own mark on it playing some of Monk’s less well-known but equally timeless compositions and focusing on Coltrane’s late 50s and early 60s work. This gig will be part of a substantial 40-plus date UK tour promoting their new CD.

For established giant of the UK jazz scene, Dave O’Higgins, this will be his 21st CD as leader. For young “firebrand” Rob Luft, this will be his 2nd. They will be leading a quartet with Irish organist, Scott Flanigan and American drummer, Rod Youngs. The repertoire will be made up of Thelonious Monk compositions (expect some rarely heard ones!) and tunes played by John Coltrane with especial reference to his choice of standards and various collaborations in the 1950s.

“The quartet venture jointly led by saxophonist Dave O’Higgins and guitarist Rob Luft gives a strong message about sustainability, professionalism, and what jaw-dropping talent deployed in the right way can achieve. This gig to launch their new album, O’Higgins and Luft play Monk and Trane (Ubuntu Records) was (drum roll) the 15th date of a 37-date tour. The point is worth making: top-flight musicians with talent, energy and vision know how to defy odds and create things – without wanting to labour the point – rather than to destroy them.”London Jazz News

Dave O’Higgins

Twice winner of Best Tenor Sax in the British Jazz Awards, Dave’s tenor and soprano sax sounds are highly personal and recognisable, with a clear sense of melodic development and adventure. A popular performer with the public, with an excellent sense of pacing and presentation, he has a wide palette from Charlie Parker, Dexter Gordon, John Coltrane, Joe Henderson through to Stanley Turrentine and Michael Brecker.

Dave has worked with some of the world’s finest musicians, including: Joey Calderazzo, Joe Locke, Dave Kikowski, Eric Alexander, Grant Stewart, Max Ionata, Phil Dwyer, Adam Nussbaum, Joe Lovano, Phil Woods, Jimmy Smith, Nancy Wilson, Peggy Lee, Kurt Elling, Wayne Shorter, Eddie Gomez, Billy Childs, Abdullah Ibrahim, Chico Chagas, Stephane Grappelli, Michel Legrand. He wrote and produced the last Matt Bianco album, “Gravity”. Other regular bands over the years include: Darius Brubeck Quartet, Brubecks Play Brubeck, John Dankworth and Cleo Laine, Jim Mullen, Martin Taylor’s Spirit of Django, Jamie Cullum, Kyle Eastwood, BBC Big Band, and Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Orchestra

“O’Higgins plays with quite exceptional fluency and his fund of ideas never runs out.”…The Observer

“A stunning player in the neo-bop vein, with an apparently effortless flow of coherent ideas, beautiful time and a highly developed harmonic sense.”…JAZZ GUIDE

Rob Luft

Rob is an award-winning 25-year-old musician from London  who has been described as one of the UK’s most prominent and talented young contemporary jazz guitarists. Rob was the recipient of the 2016 Kenny Wheeler Jazz Prize in association with Edition Records and he  received  2nd Prize in The 2016 Montreux Jazz Guitar Competition. His debut album, “Riser”, was released in July 2017, to widespread critical acclaim from the European jazz media. John Fordham wrote in The Guardian that it’s a “very sophisticated debut, but given Luft’s old-soul achievements since his early teens, we should have heard it coming”.

Rob is a regular member of some of London’s finest modern jazz groups, such as Byron Wallen’s “Four Corners”, Martin Speake’s “Mafarowi”, and Enzo Zirilli’s “Zirobop”. In 2015 he was the recipient of the Peter Whittingham Award as part of two collective ensembles – Patchwork Jazz Orchestra and jazz-rock quartet Big Bad Wolf.

Nominated “British Jazz Musician of the year”Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2018 

“Breakthrough Act of the year” –  Jazz FM Awards 2018

 “…an extraordinary talent!” – Julian Joseph, BBC Radio 3 (UK)

Scott Flanigan

Hailing from Belfast in Northern Ireland, Scott Flanigan is one of the foremost keyboard players on the Irish jazz scene. He performs regularly across the United Kingdom, Ireland, France and Germany, and has recently performed with Van Morrison, the Ulster Orchestra, Larry Coryell, Jean Toussaint, Jim Mullen and Linley Hamilton.

As a leader, Scott successfully tours his own contemporary piano trio, as well as a hard-swinging organ quartet.

Rod Youngs

Rod is a London-based drummer and composer who seamlessly moves from one genre to another, always preserving stylistic conventions whilst bringing creativity and individuality. A native of Washington D.C., Rod has a uniquely identifiable style, loose-limbed and giving everything a great sense of swing. It is a style that incorporates influences across the board from Sid Catlett to Tony Williams, but centres in the great Post-Bop drummers of the 50s.

He has a Bachelor of Music Degree from Howard University and in1985 he was chosen to study jazz performance at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, N.Y. Even before the completion of his formal training, Rod’s reputation as an exceptional musician led to him being invited to tour with jazz pianist/vocalist Les McCann and R&B vocalist Angela Bofil.

Since those early years Rod’s consummate musicianship has garnered him a wide variety of work from concerts and recordings to sessions for radio, TV and film. He has become the drummer of choice for a formidable array of artists and groups including, Gil Scott-Heron, Lee Konitz, Courtney Pine, Jon Hendricks, Hugh Masekela, Carleen Anderson, Craig Handy, Natalie Cole, Bennie Maupin, Mica Paris, Denys Baptiste, Abdullah Ibrahim, Juliet Roberts, Julian Joseph, BBC Concert Orchestra, Ronnie Laws, Jocelyn Brown, Robin Eubanks, and Jazz Jamaica All Stars amongst others.